Gazette Publisher John Waters moderates Brewster County Democratic Candidate Forum today (Saturday, Feb. 13) at 2 pm

The Brewster County Democratic Party Executive Committee will host a candidate forum for the public to meet and hear from Brewster County candidates running in the March 1, 2016 Democratic Party Primary Election. Saturday, February 13, 2 pm at the Alpine Independent School District Auditorium, 704 West Sul Ross Ave, Alpine, Texas. The moderator will be Big Bend Gazette Publisher John Waters.

Brewster County Candidates in the primary election are (in order as they will appear on the ballot):

Contested Offices of Local Interest

District Attorney, 83rd Judicial District:

Rod Ponton

Jaime Escuder

Brewster County Sheriff:

Ronny D. Dodson

Cornelio “Cony” Vega

Brewster County Commissioner, Pct. 1:

Angie Bermudez

Luc Novovitch

Carlos Lujan

Brewster County Commissioner, Pct. 3:

Ruben G. Ortega

Eduardo F. Vega

Candidates Running Unopposed Invited to Speak

State Representative, District 74

Poncho Nevarez

District Judge, 394th Judicial District

Roy Ferguson

County Attorney

Steve Houston

Brewster County Tax Assessor-Collector

Betty Jo Rooney

Early voting in Brewster County will start February 16. This forum is an opportunity for our citizens to become more aware of who the Democratic candidates are and the issues pertinent to the offices they seek.


To the Registered Voters of the County of Brewster, Texas:

Notice is hereby given that the polling places listed below will be open from 7 am to 7 pm, Tuesday, March 1, 2016, for voting in a joint primary election for the Democratic Party and Republican Party to nominate federal officers, members of the state legislature, and state, district, county and precinct officers; and for the purpose of electing county and precinct chairs.

On Election Day, voters must vote in their precinct where registered to vote.

Location of Election Day Polling Places

PRECINCT 1: Alpine High School – small gym, 300 E Hendryx at Fighting Buck Ave, Alpine, Texas,

PRECINCT 2: Brewster County Commissioners’ Courtroom, 211 W Ave E, Alpine, Texas

PRECINCT 3: Marathon Community Center, 2nd and Ave E, Marathon, Texas

PRECINCT 4: Alpine Civic Center – Council Chambers, 803 W Holland, Alpine, Texas

PRECINCT 5: Panther Junction Community Room, Big Bend National Park, Texas

PRECINCTS 6 & 7, consolidated: Red Pattillo Community Center, Hwy 118, Study Butte/Terlingua, Texas

PRECINCT 8: Alpine Neighborhood Center, 607 W Gallego, Alpine, Texas

For Early Voting, a voter may vote at any of the locations listed below.

Location of Early Voting Polling Places

Election PRECINCTS 1-8, consolidated:

Brewster County Commissioners’ Courtroom

211 W Ave E, Alpine, Texas

Hours: 8:30 am to 5 pm

Tuesday, February 16, 2016 through Friday, February 26, 2016

Extended Hours on Thursday, February 18, 2016 and Thursday, February 25, 2016 8:30 am to 7 pm

Remote Early Voting

PRECINCTS 6 & 7, consolidated:

Red Pattillo Community Center Hwy 118, Study Butte/Terlingua

Tuesday, February 16, 2016 11 am  to 3 pm.

Comments are closed.